Back to site

Ode To Sentience

Image of Ode To Sentience


CD orders come with a limited edition Emily Jane White poster while supplies last!


1) Oh Katherine
2) The Cliff
3) Black Silk
4) The Black Oak
5) I Lay To Rest (California)
6) Clipped Wings
7) The Preacher
8) The Law
9) Requiem Waltz
10) Broken Words
11) Silhouette [US Bonus Track]

MP3 available from iTunes
Buy From Itunes

Emily Jane White’s third album Ode to Sentience is her most realized work to date. Drawing upon finger-picked folk, traditional country, classical music and rock, White creates an expansive space for her intuitive lyrics and elegiac vocals. The spare skeletons of the songs on Ode to Sentience are fleshed out with subdued electric guitar thrums, diaphanous organ, ethereal pedal steel guitar, lush strings, and White’s dusky alto with its signature catch.

Ode to Sentience unifies White’s recurring themes and her fascination with Gothic America into an assured statement. There’s an emotional potency to the songs, betraying her keen eye for the power dynamics of interpersonal conflict, melancholy, and confinement.White doesn’t wallow in darkness and morbidity; instead she considers her work to be unifying, an empathetic reflection on the universality of adversity.

Ode to Sentience was recorded by Ross Harris and mastered by John Greenham.

Black Silk
From Ode To Sentience